Castellano | Euskara | Français | English

Use the search tool!
Ir a la home


Julian Gayarre International Singing Contest

c/ Navarrería 39, 1º E31001 Pamplona. España
Tel. +34.848.424683 / 427184
Fax. +34.848.424629 / 424728

What is

Julián Gayarre

The Julián Gayarre International Singing Contest is held every two years in Pamplona, alternating each year with the Pablo Sarasate International Violin Contest, since 1986.

It was created with the dual aim of promoting Navarran tenors and raising awareness of the Autonomous Region in the international cultural arena.

The strict management of the contest and the high technical level of participants have earned the event its inclusion the World Federation of International Music Competitions, based in Geneva.

The contest is open to young performers from around the world, with prizes awarded for both male and female voices.

One of the objectives proposed by the Department of Culture and Tourism of the Government of Navarra in organising the Gayarre Contest is to discover emerging young talent in the world of singing and to help them take their first steps in their career. Some of the contest’s winners already earning international recognition include:

• FIRST EDITION (1986). Study grant, María Bayo, soprano.

• THIRD EDITION (1990). First prize, Manuel Lanza, baritone.

• FOURTH EDITION (1992). Third prize, Elisabete Matos, lyric soprano. First prize in the male voice competition, Marcin Bronikowski, baritone.

• FIFTH EDITION (1994). Friends of the Opera Special Award to a performer of Spanish opera or zarzuela, Milagros Poblador, soprano.

• SIXTH EDITION (1996). First prize, Carlos Moreno, tenor. Third prize, Sabina Puértolas, soprano. Study grant, Markus Werba, baritone.

• SEVENTH EDITION (2000). Study grant, Maite Beaumont, mezzo-soprano (Spain). Study grant, Marius Brenciu, tenor (Romania). Friends of the Opera Special Award to a performer of Spanish opera or zarzuela, Gabriel Pérez Bermúdez, baritone (Spain).

• NINTH EDITION (2002). First prize, Joshua Hopkins, baritone (Canada).

• TENTH EDITION (2004). First prize in the male voice competition, Jorge Luis de León, tenor (Spain).

• ELEVENTH EDITION (2006). First prize, Anna Kasyan, soprano (Spain).

The Contest’s panel of judges is presided over by mezzo-soprano Teresa Berganza, and is composed of eminent international personalities from the world of violin performance and teaching.

Contact us | Accessibility | Legal notice | Site map